NEWS/UPDATES - 2008-2009

On to State!
Feb 21, 09

2008-09 Team Awards

Mar 23, 2009
by Coach Sears
The Vashon High School boys basketball team would like to announce the following awards, as presented at their banquet Sunday, March 22.

Team Awards (voted on by VHS players and coaches):

The team awards fall in line with the four ideals the team tries to reach: Championship Effort, Inspiration (playing with passion), Teamwork, and Improvement.

Most Improved
V – Kyle Bakker
JV – Jeff Rauma
C  -  Nick Fox-Edele

Best Teammate
V – Max Burnham
JV – Jesse Hazard
C – Josh Cox

Mr. Hustle (championship effort)
V – Chris Pieterick
JV –  Tyler Stoffer
C – Nathan Osgood

Most Inspirational (passion for the game)
V – Christian Hasson (mgr.)
JV –  Torin Perret
C –Nathan Osgood

Team Captains
Max Burnham
Thomas Timm-Skove

Team Managers
Christian Hasson
Jake Theno

WIAA Distinguished Scholastic Team Award (3.38 Team GPA)

Nisqually League Academic Awards (3.5 GPA or above):

Max Burnham
John Gage
Odin Jacobovitch
Chris Pieterick
Michael Stoffer
Alex Wegner
Elias Weston

1A Nisqually All-Opponent Team (voted on by opposing coaches):

John Gage

1st Team
Thomas Timm-Skove

2nd Team
Max Burnham
Alex Wegner

Honorable Mention
Chris Pieterick
Charlie Hoffman

Coach of they Year - Andy Sears

1A All-State Tournament Team (voted on by tournament media):

John Gage

2nd Team
Thomas Timm-Skove

WIAA State Tournament Sportsmanship Awards (voted on by tournament staff):

Game 1 -- John Gage
Game 2 -- Matt Kerns
Game 3 -- Max Burnham