On to State!
Feb 21, 09


Pirates Leash Charles Wright Tarriers

Jan 21, 2009
by Charlie Pieterick
Charlie Hoffman shoots over the Charles Wright Academy defense.
The Pirates did not look like champions in the early going in Tacoma.  Charles Wright Academy, defending Washington State 1-A champions, played with focus and determination, hoping to upset the team most consider to be their successor.  

The Tarriers successfully employed a packed zone similar to that used by Chelan against the Pirates two days earlier.  This prevented the Pirates from getting the ball inside to their twin towers, John Gage and Charlie Hoffman.  Pirate perimeter shooting was poor.  And while Pirate coach, Andy Sears, exhorted his players to attack the basket, they did not seem able to find a crease in the Tarrier defense.  This, combined with Pirate turnovers, left them clinging to a slim 20-17 advantage at the half.

Coming out in the second half, the Pirates seemed to have gotten Coach Sears’ message.  Pirate Thomas Timm-Skove started off by attacking inside.  And while he missed the shot, he managed to get his own rebound for the putback.  Alex Wegner attacked baseline and was fouled, sinking one of two freethrows.  Timm-Skove followed this with a slashing drive for 2, putting the Pirates up 25-17 only a minute into the quarter.  

When Charles Wright managed to close back within 2 midway through the third, the Pirates responded.  On offense, they displayed an inside-out game, getting the ball inside to Gage and driving the lanes, but also kicking out for scores from the perimeter.  On defense, they pressured the Tarrier backcourt, forcing turnovers and turning some of them into fast break points.  By the end of the third quarter the Pirates had a solid 40-25 lead.  Continuing to successfully press ahead in the fourth quarter, the Pirates returned to the Island with the 56-33 victory in tow.

Pirate Points vs. CWA:  Gage 16, Max Burnham 9, Timm-Skove 8, Chris Pieterick 7, Wegner 6, Elias Weston 4, Matt Kerns 3, Quinn Holert 2, Kyle Bakker, Hoffman, Michael Stoffer.